How to use ConvertTexture

Just Cause 3 Mods Forums Tutorials How to use ConvertTexture

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by the8bitrobin the8bitrobin 7 months, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

neam
    Participant

How to use ConvertTexture.

Hopefully for us all, as avalanche uses a quite… non standard format, and that format has its header information is scattered everywhere and that I am a lazy programmer, there will be some more difficulties for certain image type. But I have the honour to announce that we now handle (almost) all images and 2D textures JC3 can have.

the easy way

If your image is a ddsc file and that file weight more than 100ko, you can go the easy way:

[AFile.ddsc] -> ConvertTexture -> [AFile.xml + AFile[0-9].dds]

Open the .dds file with whatever you want (paint.net, gimp (via the dds plugin) or photoshop (with the nvidia texture tools). Save it (pay attention to the size of the generated file. It should be roughly the same. If the same is not the same, try enabling/disabling mipmaps, try saving in DXT1, DXT3 or DXT5, with or without mipmaps).

[AFile.xml] -> ConverTexture -> [AFile.ddsc]

TIP: If you have an alpha channel in the image (and that the image have semi-transparent pixels), the format will very probably be DXT3 (and sometime DXT5). For every other cases, it’s DXT1.

the a-small-bit-less-easy way

Your image is less than 100ko. Search for a hmddsc file that have exactly the same name, once you’ve found it, copy both the ddsc and the hmddsc file somewhere.

If you only have a hmddsc, try to find a .bl or .ee archive with a name that can match, extract it and search for the ddsc file in it.

They must be in the same folder for now. Then:

[AFile.ddsc] -> ConvertTexture -> [AFile.xml + AFile[0-9].dds]

Edit the dds file with your favorite image editing program that handle dds. Save it, but enable the mipmap thing. Once you’ve saved it, do: